MJ Lynch

a free mariner makes discoveries

I’m special. And parade thoughts…

with one comment

I feel special. Like maybe my photography is, halfway decent! Here’s why;  BallotVox, a website that showcases everyday people producing media content, has posted two of my photos from the inaugural festivities. Check it out here.

My cousins and I arrived at our spot on the parade route at 10:00 am and stood, in the freezing cold, until about 4:00 pm when a newly minted president walked by.

I’m not an Obama supporter. I’m not taken by all the hope and change. I know Obama can’t “fix the economy”, he’ll more than likely continue Bush policy on the war, and will probably end up being Clinton II.  There won’t be much “change” and the “hope” every Obama supporter is feeling will shortly fade into frustration and disappointment.

Yet, there I was, standing in frigid temperatures, waiting to see one man. My cousins who are not news junkies, do not follow politics, couldn’t care less about policy; wanted to subject themselves to that kind of cold to get a glimpse of Obama.  So, why?

I’ll attempt an answer in my next post.

Written by freemariner

January 23, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1) I like your pictures 2) Obama is a huge celebrity. No other explanation needed.

    Peter

    January 30, 2009 at 12:33 pm


Leave a Reply

